

Honoring our Founders and Champions

The Ballet Alliance annually recognizes our founders and champions by naming scholarships given at the Festival for these important luminaries. These people have had a lasting impact on TBA, and it is important that our youth understand the historic lineage of our organization and are able to identify and honor them.

TBA rules documents state that we give scholarships in honor of Lila Zali and LTC Fred Shadle each year. We also have legacy funds from Patricia Stander's estate for scholarships.

2022

TBA began naming yearly scholarships for recently departed friends in our ballet world that are of importance to us and our organization. We also started the practice of naming scholarships for TBA Honorary Members in Memoriam, as well as a scholarship awarded for a TBA Champion.

In addition to the annual Lila Zali, LTC Fred Shadle and Patricia Stander scholarships, we named scholarships for recently departed Jon Cristofori, Glenda Brown, and Lenore Farese; Honorary Members in Memoriam: Evelyn LeMone, and Jan Collum; TBA Champion Deborah Hadley

2023

In addition to the annual Lila Zali, LTC Fred Shadle and Patricia Stander scholarships, we named scholarship for recently departed Barbara Crockett and TBA Champion Nicholas Ade.

2024

In addition to the annual Lila Zali, LTC Fred Shadle and Patricia Stander scholarships, we named scholarship for recently departed Deborah Hadley and TBA champion: Charles Maple. Other scholarships were given in honor of Doris Jenkins, Clare Porter, Robert Hanlin and Doris Hering.

TBA Honorary Members in Memoriam: Clare Porter (1913-2000), Jan Collum (1919-2001), Lila Zali (1918-2003), Doris Jenkins (1919-2004), Evelyne LeMone (1907-2005), LTC. Fred Shadle (1917-2009), Patricia Stander (1934-2009), Barbara Crockett (1920-2022), Deborah Hadley (1951-2023)